The Man I Do Not Know

Posted: July 22, 2013 in My Thoughts

Why do I write about someone I don’t know? To be more specific, about someone I haven’t met even once in my life? And why about him and no other?
Those are justified questions and I will at least try to answer them in what follows.

I do not have very much in common with this man. The only similarities that I know of are:
We have the same height, we both consume caffeine like others water and share an unhealthy habit. I also stay awake most nights, love to read, have an apparently special sense of humor and claim to be very shy.
The differences between us are rather obvious:
I’m German, he’s Indian. I’m a girl attempting to start a business, he’s most probably the most successful man on the planet. I can’t dance, he does it as part of his job.

The first point of contact was, how can it be any different, a movie. Back then I didn’t know, of course, what this moment would mean to me a few years later. In retrospect it almost feels like destiny, as I normally don’t watch TV.
In 2005 I zapped through the channels and caught a glimpse of a man dressed in a beige-colored coat who was standing with his back to the camera on what appeared to be a ferry. Since I couldn’t remember if I had seen the film before I stayed on the channel.
What can I say? As soon as the movie ended, I was overwhelmed insomuch that I watched every film which was broadcast.
Although I had no idea, who exactly the leading man in all of them was (apart from the name), I instantly liked him and his films.

Then, in 2007 I stopped watching them because I had no time due to work. A short time later my father was diagnosed with severe illness and suffered an additional heart attack in 2010 which he thankfully survived. In 2008 my best friend suddenly died when he was 24. My grandfather had a serious accident and had to stay in ICU for over a year. And in early 2012 I was hospitalized and had to undergo surgery to survive.
To put it in a nutshell, my whole world broke apart in only a few years. All this made me even lose my faith in God. It got so bad in the end that I wished to die.
Whoever might read this, please don’t get me wrong. I don’t want to arouse pity, as I’m over all this now. But I had to write it so that you understand my full meaning.

Because in 2012, when I had a little breathing spell – and again I might have to attribute it to destiny – I stumbled across a SciFi movie and its story sounded pretty interesting. Without further thought – and hence without knowing that the mentioned actor was again the leading man in it – I watched it.
This film, Ra.One, finally made me want to know more of him. And I watched all his work I could find in my VoD account. Then I bought the movies and found out everything I could about this man on the internet. Why? Simply because – just by watching his films – I felt a happiness within me that I had lost before.

When I started reading his interviews, I had to read all of them. I started watching his TV-appearances (shows, functions, interviews) and again I had to watch all of them. I even found archives with old tweets of his.
And without noticing it myself at first, I changed. When I realized it, well, it was too late.
The man I do not know brought me back my life.
His movies gave me happiness, his interviews, his life story and, more than anything, his tweets taught me to be resilient, not to give up without putting up a fight, to believe in myself, to conquer my shyness, to never take anything for granted, to do things with heart and soul, to go my own way and to accept the fact that I’m flawed like any other human being too.

I also really missed “The knightwriting Prince of Darkness”.

And there is one point which I personally feel has to be highlighted:
As I wrote before, I had completely lost my faith in God. I was a declared and fully convinced atheist. Nobody was able to give me any reason to believe again. Not my parents, not my friends and least of all anyone church-related!
But I found my way back to my belief.

A Christian girl found back to her religion, guided by a Muslim man who unknowingly inspired her to read not only the Bible again but also translations of the Holy Books of other religions like the Qur’an, the Gita, the Torah…
I never questioned anyone about his/her religion because I simply wasn’t interested.
Now I don’t ask anyone for his/her religion because I know it’s not important. No matter by which name God is called, we’re all just the same.
And because this man said it better than I ever could, I dare to quote:
“[…] I find it so strange, when we’re fighting about this, it’s like … same novel, same topic, just different languages […]”

Those of you who still have no idea, who this man is, will know after my last passage.
Why? Because it’s high time to thank the man himself!
To thank The Man I Do Not Know, Shah Rukh Khan.

Thank you for making me smile and think in different ways, for your sense of humor, for giving me new friends all over the world, for introducing me to a whole new universe of movies, songs and most of all for being who you are …
a beautiful and inspirational soul.

And I have to say that you did something which I never considered possible not so long ago.
You gave me back my life. In fact, you spread so much love through the things you do, one could almost think you loved me back to life.
Just for that I will never be able to thank you enough.

And I can’t explain it even to myself properly but I – and many others I got to know because of you – feel a special bond between you and us. Not only as an audience towards an actor, it’s much beyond that. At least for me. How I know that? All my life I had a very simple indicator for it: creativity. As crazy as it sounds, I am only able to draw or paint someone, even digitally, when I really like him or her. For me that’s proof enough.

But I think Goethe described this feeling a little more intelligent:
“What is uttered from the heart alone will win the heart of others to your own.”

And by the way … I was 21 when I saw you the first time, so I suppose it’s OK if I say that your assumption is absolutely right … You, sir, are sex on toast 😉

Now nothing more is left but my wishes:
Loads of love, endless happiness, a long, healthy life, respect and all the best to you and your family. May God always bless you.

@Tuilere

P.S.: Not to forget “my proof” that I really like you …

Don

Comments
  1. Girish G A says:

    Truly he(SRK) is an inspiration to all of us.Thank you SRK

  2. nayola mendi says:

    Thank you for that, it is beautiful.A similar thing happened to me because of SRK.I think he`s a wonderful and inspiring human being.Love him.

  3. mpollak711 says:

    I’m older than you and my story is different in many ways, it is also the same and you explained how I feel. I too happened upon a film by happenstance and then watched (and now have watched multiple times) every single film he’s done plus every interview, game show etc and daily read at least one fan blog. What resonated the most is what you said about belief. I am Jewish and I have also struggled with it and the words of a Muslim man I have never met bring me back to belief and a strong sense we are all the same. Thank you for your words; they were wonderful to wake up to today. I feel the same about “the man I’ve never met”.MP

  4. k sreenivas says:

    awesome writing….
    but i have 1 question
    how did he make you believe in god?
    pls do tell, i am very eager to know.
    thanks in advance

    • tuilere says:

      Thank you for the kind words.
      Regarding your question:
      When the things happened (which I wrote about) my faith was already a little impaired because of incidents which supposedly happened in the name of religion.
      In additition to that I saw all kinds of church-related people which didn’t spread humanity but used the Bible to follow agendas of hatred against minorities or other religions.
      I admit, back then I didn’t have the knowledge to see certain distinctions like I do today.
      Mr. Khan’s words about religious understanding between people (in interviews) inspired me to form my own opinion instead of listening to the “nonsense” of certain individuals.
      So when I read the Bible and all the other Holy Books I fully agreed with his words which I quoted. I understood that it’s all about love, humanity and hope, not about hatred. And that it doesn’t make a difference which religion someone follows.
      Additionally I have to make one thing clear: I believe in God and follow my faith, but I don’t believe in the church.

  5. same story just the movie i saw was kuch kuch hota hai which make me cry

  6. ))) I have had a similar story), only it was 12 years ago and the movie “koyla” .I too was revived in this new life magician) also initially did not understand what happened. are now 12 years old I am grateful to God that he has created a miracle for us …

  7. Claude Ria says:

    Happy that ShahRukh retweeted you otherwise I would have missed you story 🙂

    Thanks for combining the essential of ShahRukh’s inspirational abilities with you own hearttouching story 🙂

    Warm hug and lots of Love!

  8. Sujit Mathew says:

    absolutely stunned and mesmerized by your thoughts .Really Inspired !!!!!!! Wishing you all the luck in the world.

  9. Sameer says:

    If he will come to your home then would you like to stay with him?

    • tuilere says:

      Stay with him? As in?

      But I’ll answer anyhow.
      Sure I’d really like to see him someday, who wouldn’t? And I’d really love to have a short conversation with him, although I know I’d be so overwhelmed that I’d not be able to speak actually.
      And that’s it, nothing more.

  10. Kerstin Strübing says:

    Such deep feelings … so wonderful to “paper” brought ….. The feelings he evokes in us as easy …. thinking in terms of reason and harmony. …
    I thank you and I thank Shah Rukh

  11. vikram says:

    Excellent and you have put your exactly what it hasa tobe. Touched.

  12. Zeineb Ben Mustapha says:

    i have the same feeling i love Shah Rukh Khan so much im his biggest fan from TUNISIA and i want to be his friend

  13. mallick says:

    excellent feelings by d way this is lesson or way to learn that how a person can feel him/her self happy to see some1 stranger who dont know to specially 1fan, so in same way u can love ur GOD who give you life to love HIM as without seen or talk HIM

  14. novyanti says:

    Very excellent written. Like it a lot as a spirit to go on, no matter what happen, life has to go on. Never give up, no reason to give up. I’m a big fan of SRK too, and always be..

  15. absolut richtig, was du da schreibst… er hat diese macht auf uns…

  16. Priya says:

    So beautifully written. I am a crazy fan. He never fails to make my already happy life happier. He only has love and positive vibes to give out which makes him so special. He is a charmer and above all a wizard 🙂

  17. Vijay says:

    Excellent article…Kudos..!!!

Knock yourself out! ;-)

